New here, struggling but empowerd, how did I do it? Look!🙏

Hi everyone my name is Ryan. I’m finally taking this seriously, I always had reservations about leaving my friends behind, even if it’s just for a period of time to get my life together, but I moved to Portland and I was on and off the street for a bit since March but now I’m in a program, have my own apartment, and I’m going to meetings again. I have a 2 year old and I’m blessed to have my parents take care of her while I’m doing this. As hard as it is to admit, I wasn’t able to fully take care of her, I did for a year and then I fell apart. But I’m doing all the extra things I’ve never done before. I still have a good relationship with her through FaceTime because she is a plane flight away. Hopefully I will feel strong enough soon to return. I’ve struggled to get to 60 and 90 days for the past 16 years. But the extra things I’m doing have made it to where I’m finally doing this for myself, not just for my family. So I wanted to make a point that it’s possible to feel good about yourself and feel strong even in extremely hard or depressing times. I feel like a failure as a dad sometimes, I never wanted to have a kid that I couldn’t take care of, that was a big thing for me, so having that happen has been hard, getting past it to a point where I can see the path to an end result and changing that in my life is empowering!

13 Likes

Right on, welcome Ryan! :sunglasses::metal:t2:

1 Like

That’s a hell of a story man, welcome to the community! You’ll find a lot of support here :+1:

2 Likes

Thank you so much?!!! it’s my 12th time in a program plus all the times I’ve done it solo. Reminds me I need to call one of my old counselors I promised to keep in touch with. That’s always important

2 Likes