New member intro

Hi Guys

just stumbled on this app & already impressed by the concept of fellow members linking together to offer positive support

I have been drinking 70cl vodka daily for a couple of years. Though I do enjoy drinking it at the time and have also felt it helps me through day

Of course reality that it knocks production, health whilst costing a fortune

I was shocked to discover 70cl bottle contains about 1750 calories & 28 units. no wonder weight has been piling on!

Only stopped yesterday but intend to keep off it from now

Looking to read through the forums to learn what is working for others and welcome any comments & advice and will of course be pleased to offer any positive suggestions that I feel is helpful

thanks- John

17 Likes

Glad youā€™re here, John. Once the fog lifts, get to work on discovering life again.

2 Likes

thanks Nullcorp

yes sure thing

life is much too short to just lay about pi**ed all day waving legs in air

Already feeing really positive enjoying life to the full againšŸ‘

1 Like

Congratulations on making that first step!

To share my experience, which is similar to many others:

Early on I felt disconnected and had a range of emotions. I often felt like there was something i was supposed to be doing, and that made me anxious. It was like there was a cloud surrounding my head all the time.

The key during this time is to stay busy, taking walks, going to the gym, cleaning the house, rearranging furniture, anything to keep the mind occupied.

Also lots of water, seems to help.

Once I managed that stage, then came the hunger. Alcohol is basically a sugar, so I craved sugars, carbs etc. Already being overweight, I figured I could afford to eat a little (lot) extra now, and take of it later.

As far as sleep goes, some nights are good, some are bad. Bad nights I toss and turn for what feels like hours. Almost enough to drive me mad, but I just bear down and push though.

Anyway, take that for what you want.