Pretty naffed off! 🤬

So I am pretty new to sobriety and I am trying to darned hardest to work through it, I have been, or should I say was an extremely heavy drinker for the past 10 years, not ONCE have I EVER had an advert for alcohol appear on my social media UNTIL TODAY.
Yesterday I joined this app, today I have joined multiple sobreity support groups on Facebook, so why is it only when I’m in the fight to become sober, my very first alcohol advert comes up???

I hate social media algorithms. :face_with_symbols_over_mouth:

9 Likes

You know what you need to then then alot of ppl drop social media platforms atleast for awhile anyhow ,I get sobriety ones come up on my ,I tend to hop on n off I spend no more than 2 hours a week on faceache if that but for the first 3/4 motths I didn’t have it at all.but it’s definitely a personal choice.:pray::pray:

5 Likes

Fuck cookies. They should make it so that you can turn on advertisement filters so that you don’t get this bullshit. I am a gaming addict. After rehab I got a new phone with new accounts for everything, literally everything and still all my advertisements are about games. Such a pain in the ass in early recovery

2 Likes

It’s the devil. Actually it’s your own mental addiction. When you quit, you’ll see alchohol everywhere you go or relate it to anything. Stay on course.

6 Likes

I have to admit I didn’t really notice just how many alcohol ads were in all sorts of media until I first gave up. TV, magazines, social media, buses etc. I thought I would have to go in a sensory deprivation chamber to get away from them. It is like when you have a hangover, throwing up and all you see are food advertisements and food programmes.
I hope you can get past them without putting a brick through the telly or throwing your phone out the window. :see_no_evil::speak_no_evil:

2 Likes