Remember the shame

For anyone thinking about drinking or going back to their drug of choice, remember the shame that comes after! It can last days or longer, sometimes life depending on what you did. I am on my fourth day sober and new to the journey of admitting that I have a problem. I never want to go back and thought my horrible feelings might help someone else abstain. Shame, anxiety, and so, so tired.

21 Likes

Welcome and congrats on your 4 days. I am new to this too and am almost at 40 days. I am down today but I know it will pass. I could fill pages up with the shame I have for different events and/or actions. I just keep trying to look forward and knowing that I have my first grand baby coming soon helps. It is amazing not to have a hangover or regrets when I wake up. There is so much love here.

12 Likes

The shame is the worst…this too shall pass. Congrats on 4 days! We’re on the same milestone :blush:

10 Likes

It gets better in time if you stick it out…i thought id never get through my first few days but i did…you are an addict struggling with addiction not some monster…try and pepper your feelings of shame with being kind to yourself…the shame is what the disease wants so that it can keep you down…dont let it. You are a human being struggling with addiction give yourself some compassion and care right now because you are deserving of recovery and a better life :heart: :people_hugging:

13 Likes

Welcome Amanda! :blush:
Congrats on 4 days :tada:
Playing that tape all the way through to the end still helps me after 4+ years of being in recovery. It’s easy for me to remember the fun times drinking. My addictive brain likes to block the bad memories and that’s when I must play that tape to the end.
Wishing you the best on your journey

13 Likes

Welcome to the community :raising_hand_woman: :hugs:

6 Likes