Self harm support

Hi everyone :wave:, I’m Julia and I am brand new to the app. Here’s a little bit about me: I’m just shy of 24y/o. I’ve been self harming for about 8 years now and the struggle is real. I started cutting because of anxiety and it progressed into a horrible addiction. I attend AA meetings but because I am not an alcoholic I feel I needed a community of people who could relate to my experiences a little bit better of course I will continue AA meetings because they are very helpful toy recovery but this will be my first time on an adult sobriety app where there are ppl to talk to. I would love to hear from others who share similar experiences. I will continue to share my story as I get to know others here. I am a Christian so I’d appreciate clean content! Thx everyone nice to meet u all!!!

-julia

6 Likes

Welcome!
I am not addicted to SH, but I did it for escape and to punish myself for what I considered my many faults. SH for me was intermingled with alcohol abuse, and disordered eating. It has taken me a long time (wrong side of 40!) to be 3 years sober, really making headway with eating mindfully, and can’t actually remember the last time I SHed. Look forward to hearing more about you! :purple_heart:

1 Like

Congrats on 3 years, thx for sharing!!!

2 Likes

I had been self harming by cutting since I was 13 until… probably last year, so 20 years total. It for me was a release from anxiety. I did some work with cognitive behavior therapy for my anxiety and phobias that helped me stop. I still get urges to do it but have not. Check out the book “Coping with anxiety” by Edmund Bourne. I borrowed this book from a friend, read it, and then bought it myself and have re-read it several times. You can get it cheap on amazon.

1 Like

Hello and welcome @Jules000

Thank you for being vulnerable with us and sharing your story.