Sobriety and the Antisocial Personality

It is a long shot, but is anyone else here on the Antisocial “spectrum”? I find it difficult to relate to my peers on some fronts. And finding new stimuli that is considered pro-social.

2 Likes

Hi, I don’t know what exactly it means to be on the spectrum of antisocial personality. But I have a lot of experience with social anxiety and loneliness and feeling like I cannot relate/am unrelatable - like a lot of folks on here have! I personally had not met up sober with anybody not even closest friends for years, before I got sober. It was scary. I felt so isolated and forlorn amongst others. :frowning: I can tell you, this changes with sobriety, and today I am able to make connections again. Not as ecstatically and crazily as I’d have pictured in my youth but deeply and healthier. Same goes for social activities. I’m still very cautious and easily uncomfortable when it comes to those - but small steps and one day at a time, I’m making progress. And you will too. How long are you sober and what’s your doc?

2 Likes

Thank you for your response.

I suppose I’ve not had many connections to people at all. My family is trying, and for the sake of convention, I play the role. But I have no innate desire to be around them or build relationships. They feel… I dunno. foreign to me. But engaging with them seems to make them happy. And a happy universe seems like a good bet for the long haul. I’ve been sober for 11 months. DoC was heroin. It made me feel. But now that I am back, I realize I felt before. Just differently.

3 Likes