Staying free from substance

I have been using cocaine now for 19 years. What started as a few lines has become a everyday use now. I dont drink alcohol to want to use. I lost my dad at a young age, i didn’t realise the damage that caused. Have been trying to get free now for 5 years and keep falling off and using daily. Longest i have been free is 4 months. I feel.in a cycle i cant break free from. I am in a recovery group currently but they are alcohol dependent people, i feel am struggling to make a connection with them. Talking to friends doesnt help me and i allow myself to become isolated and anxious

8 Likes

Welcome to Talking Sober Mike! This place and its members might be of some help to you. I really hope so. There’s people from all walks of life here, from every corner of the earth, and with any addiction imaginable. Take your time to check us out. Lots of good stuff around and lots of new connections to be made.

As for a face to face recovery group, are there any other possibilities in your neck of the woods? NA might be something. Or SMART Recovery, Or Recovery Dharma. No idea of anything available to you. Wishing you all success for sure. Hope you find some support here. I for sure did! Saved my life no joke. We’re in this together friend.

2 Likes

Hi, yeah i have bern in SMART recovery now for 3 weeks. I was 2 weeks free up till friday just gone. Had a bad week, felt sorry for myself and couldnt snap out or shpuld i aay allowed myself to feel that way. Ive been trying so long now its honeslty tiring. I get a bit anxious in groups so hoping this could be another way of helping myself and who knows maybe others at the same time.

1 Like

I know all about anxiety in groups. That’s why this place has suited me so well.