Struggling. ISO Sponsor. Or peer to bounce issues

Hey everyone,

Im finding it harder than I thought. I think if I had someone to talk to it would help. Someone to answer to. If that makes sense. I’ve had this independent streak for so long and alcohol has been my way to cope. I’m just having a hard time breaking away from the habits. Finding excuses to drink is so easy. Anyway, if someone out there would want to help I would appreciate it. Hope everyone is having a good night.

Billy

2 Likes

Hey Billy, everyone on here is willing to help bud. Hang around s bit and read all you can.
You will find out that it is hard to stop drinking because we have been using it as s crutch for so long that it’s all we know.
So you have to work at creating new pathways in your brain. Teaching yourself how to not pickup.
It isn’t easy mate.
It all comes down to how much you want sobriety and how much work you are prepared to put in.
Stick around.

2 Likes

Hey Billy. I am new to all this and am on day 21 of being sober. I have been struggling to find any support available in my area so I have reached out seeking support through online communities. I am more than happy to listen or chat if need be. I know that i am new to all this so I do not have as much experience as others but i do know that even just having someone to talk through my thoughts with…say them out loud so to speak.

Michele

1 Like

One of the offerings of the AA program is the mentoring offered by a sponsor. Another key factor is the fellowship, the friends that you meet.

I don’t know about other programs like SMART or Refuge Recovery, but you can find out if they have similar advantages. :pray:

3 Likes

What are those programs?

I actually need more like NA but I will look into those. The town i live in doesnt really offer anything I am able to attend

1 Like

Thank you for the clarification and info…like I stated I am very new to this and have had a little difficulty locating resources!!!

2 Likes