Support and tios

Hi all, I’m new to even admitting to being an addict. This past year I’ve hit my rock bottom. I’ve been arrested for dui and had to spend 5 days in jail, got divorced, lost custody, my job car and house. Since the summer I’ve been trying really hard to stay away from speed, I’ve only managed to last 45 days, then relapsed.I noticed during the 45 days I want to do anything to be high, I always trade one for a other. I picked drinking back up, black out drinking is all I aim for. I realize I have been chasing a high for over 10 years now. All my friends are struggling to, except they don’t like the idea of me being sober. They constantly say “oh yeah, I’ve heard that before” accompanied with an eye roll. When i say im done.

My question is how can I manage to want to stay away from my drug of choice and stop substituting it for whatever else. I’ve managed to get my custody back, a job and a place to live. I just don’t want to feel like I’m struggling everyday. Any and all advice is welcome…thank you! As of today I am 7 days clean…

2 Likes

Hello, welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

First off, congratulations on your week sober! That’s awesome!

For me staying sober means actively dealing with the root of why I was drinking. Growing. What drinking did was just mask the symptoms but it stopped me from dealing with my life and emotions
Have you find your reason why you wanted to get high?

2 Likes