Switching addictions (now to the gym)...wheres the balance?

So I am new to recovery once again. This is not my first rodeo by any means but I’m trying things differently this time around. I have begun working out again… cardio and weight lifting. I’ve noticed that I crave the gym and will get agitated if I’m not able to go. If I’m not careful I start almost obsessing about a healthy lifestyle (counting calories, weighing out food, weighing myself more than I should, and spending money on protein and preworkouts). To me it seems like I’m just putting my focus on something else. I want balance bcuz in the past working out became almost a negative thing… even though I was fit af. Any tips on gaining balance in this area?

6 Likes

I’m pretty much the same way, and the counting caloriew and weighing food is something normal in order to maintain your goal. I buy prework outs as well. Just don’t over do it, get one and call it good untill you are almost out. I overly weighed myself as well and it kind of just went away with time, I think it’s bc I was making sure I was getting progress. But once I noticed the progress I stopped as much. And if you can’t hit the gym, just do something quick at home. Push ups, planks, lunges and squats. And get you’re self a pull up bar that can get on a door frame. Then u won’t feel as guilty… I’d rather be much addicted to doing this then going for a drink every morning, so I’d say you’re ok lol

4 Likes

These aren’t necessarily bad things. I think it’s pretty central to taking care of yourself…being aware of what you’re eating. If you have fitness goals, doing this stuff is actually pretty important (although I don’t see much value in preworkout, personally).
Fitness/nutrition is my biggest passion. Do I tend to get a bit obsessive with it sometimes? Sure. But it saved my life, it gave me something to latch onto when I first started addressing my drinking.