Tested and Struggling to Stay Sober

Oh boy, today has been a tough one. I am 40 days sober and I am inches from pouring myself a drink. I had one of my most stressful workdays I’ve had in over five years. Like, panic attack stress levels. It started at 6:30am when I started working in my home office (aka my livingroom) and was working nonstop on 911 requests/demands until 6pm. I won’t bore anyone with the details, but I work for a corporation that is rumored to be laying a large portion of its staff off. Needless to say, tensions are high. After working 11.5 hours one of the brewers (did I mention I work in the alcohol business?) dropped of four cases of our newest product on my doorstep. Four freaking cases of canned cocktails!!! He didn’t even knock or warn me that he was dropping them off. Just a texted, “I left something special for you at your door.” I was really hoping for some cookies, but nope. Canned cocktails were just waiting for me. They are still sitting there and I’m trying to find a friend to come grab them for me. In the last three hours I’ve had a little devil version of me whispering that it won’t hurt just have one sip.

To understand this struggle a little more I think it’s important to point out that this is a product I helped develop, design, and build a market strategy around. I have spent the last year help build a whole new brand and it just came out. I worked endlessly with the team on creating these cocktails and fine tuning the flavors. I have spent countless hours working with a sales team building presentations for national retailers. I could go on and on. Normally I’d be celebrating the release of this new product with copious amounts of drinks and sharing all of the free alcohol I have at my fingertips.