The beginning, and trepidation on first steps

I’m on day 10, and while this isn’t the longest I’ve gone, it is a very different journey than the others. Others where breaks or endurance runs.
I’m posting because I’m struggling with these feelings of failure, lack of enjoyment, and brain fog. I’m a university student and I’ve noticed that my quizzes and exam scores have drastically dropped in this time frame and I’m having trouble focusing or gaining momentum on classes. Work as well, although thankfully that is more mindless.
I guess I’m really here to talk to people who have been here before, felt this maybe. No one in my life is actively supporting me or someone I can emotionally lean on. My whole journey has been a very private affair in the past from the bottom to my previous attempts to get better.
I’ve been trying to treat myself kindly, and fill my days with tasks but quickly find that I lose interest or blank out and not really be engaged.
Is this a part of the early game and it will pass or is there something I can do to alleviate these symptoms?

5 Likes

It sounds like school is really important to you, but you’re finding it difficult because of the feelings, thought, emotions that are coming up for you regarding your addictive behaviours.

When I feel overwhelmed I use mindfulness to balance out my bodies reactions to certain events. It took me a long time to get decent at it and have myself feel it working.

Remember that school and what you’re going through are two separate things, and if you can, keep those feelings separate. Remember that you can pretend to put those difficult emotions in a “pretend box” and save them for when you have the time to worry about them.

Hopefully allowing you to remain focused on your studies. Perhaps study groups to distract you in those moments of need.

I don’t have a perfect answer but what you’re going through is natural and common. What have you done for your recovery so far?

2 Likes