The nights are killing me!

I work a 9 to 5 but when I get home the anxiety kicks my butt. I live alone and since I’m not drinking now I feel even more alone. I can’t sleep at all. I’m wide awake with insomnia. I’ve been drinking for 17 years so I have no idea how to process my day soberly. This is brand new for me. I find myself dealing with every emotion I’ve ever felt. I’ve even tried calling people but seems everyone is sleep. I feel like I’m rambling but being sober is tough. Hopefully this anxiety starts residing. I’d love to get on a normal sleep schedule.

5 Likes

Maybe try going to a meeting? You wouldnt be alone then and you could talk to others who are going through or have gone through the same struggles you are facing right now.

In my early days of sobriety all I did was read the boards on this app and comment when I felt I had something to add. Also read Allen Carrs easy way to quit drinking and listened to Recovery Elevator podcasts.

Im about 200 days sober now and I started going to a crossfit gym and I am also trying to make dinner for the family 2 nights a week so I can learn how to cook.

9 Likes

Thank you so much for these tips! And I’ll definitely be checking that out! Adding Allen Carr to my list.

1 Like

I would recommend hitting a meeting. The worst that can happen is you get out of the house for an hour and don’t drink

7 Likes

I’m so sorry you’re feeling like this. It must be so stressful. It sounds like you need some serious sleep. What have you tried for the insomnia? Melatonin and magnesium can help. Meditation. An epsom salt bath with lavender maybe. Maybe they aren’t going to cut it but it’s worth a try. You can also see your doctor for a prescription but try some home remedies first.

4 Likes

Sleeping was tough in the beginning for me too. I had to stay busy right up until bed time. I did this before bed.
Shower
Read (this naked mind was good)
Thank a higher power I didnt believe in (found my higher power now)