Told my husband I wanted a divorce

Hello,
This is my first time posting but I have been scrolling for several months. I love this app and I made it almost six months without drinking. I told myself the infamous lies that a “few won’t hurt” when of course it just spent me spiraling. Last winter, I went to a destination wedding and got really wasted and a guy kissed me there. Should have stopped it but I loved the attention and we ended up sexting each other for a few weeks afterwards. This was when my drinking was at its absolute worst not that it should deflect my behavior either. I need to be accountable for my actions. He found out about it and I just knew I needed to change. I got sober, went to therapy, and my husband and I did some marriage building things through a self help book. I got rid of social media and things were going great until I relapsed. Well last night I got super wasted and I ended up searching for the former dude I was talking to and my husband found out bc it was saved in the google search bar. A huge fight ensued between us and I told him I wanted a divorce, which I really don’t. I love my husband and I feel so much guilt and shame for causing so much harm to him. Thankfully, my therapist I was seeing had an opening and I’m going to go to a women’s only AA group for more support. My husband left and we are both so upset. I seriously think I’m going to lose him this time and I’m beyond devastated. I really hate myself for my behavior and promised I wouldn’t do anything like that ever again and then it just all came crashing down. I feel so sad and broken right now.

6 Likes

AA is a great deal, go for starting and working a program for you and your future, whatever that may be for you moving forward. God will take care of the rest. You can change, its never too late. Work for it, we only get one shot at this life.

3 Likes