Toxic Relationships

I’m beginning my journey with sobriety in earnest, official today. Of course, I drank all the liquor in my house yesterday before giving it a go, so not the best way to start, but we have to start somewhere!

The biggest obstacle I anticipate is from my friends and family, and I would greatly appreciate any and all guidance.

My mom, dad, and, to some extent, my younger sister, all suffer from addictions of one sort or the other ON TOP of alcoholism, like me. When I have tried to stop drinking in the past they pressure me to drink, and seem personally insulted that I’m trying to stop. Then, when I gave into the pressure, they reward me with a lot of positive reinforcement, encouragement, etc. NOT HEALTHY. The thing is, cutting them out of my life until I’m stronger in my sobriety (the only option I can think of) is really not practically possible because I work in the family business. I see them every day. Plus, we’re very close, and I don’t even know that I could do that. If anyone else has ideas on how to handle this, I am desperate for help! P.S. none of them are interested in recovery.

All of my friendships were forged in bars and at private residences under the heavy influence of alcohol. My friends and I would take turns puking in each other’s bathrooms and falling asleep on each other’s couches or guest beds. I really care for many of these people, but I feel that without alcohol we might not have anything in common, and we may not even like each other that much, as sad as that is. Maybe 1-2 of them do I feel comfortable saying that I could spend time with them sober (if they’d even want to do so). Has anyone had any experience with this?

I need help!

1 Like