What did you do today to stop thinking about drinking

I’m looking for help cause I think drinking is destroying my life n family. I once went 4months now barely can hit a week. I’m on 22hrs now but would like to know how you keep your days going with out thinking of drinking. Thank you so much to this group I’m a newbie and need help.

2 Likes

I gave up the notion I could ever drink normally, attended a bunch of meetings and asked my Higher Power to remove my obsession.

Since doing those things I don’t think about constantly. Most times I think about booze is when I check in here.

Gratitude lists of life things that are enhanced by not drinking can be awfully helpful too.

3 Likes

AA has helped me tremendously, I now have 10 months sober. Meetings along with the 12 steps are the reason for my continued success.

2 Likes

I distract myself. TV, cook. read, run, drink tea. Anything but not alcohol. I cleaned three closets today. I am exhausted but sober.

6 Likes

Starting out, i really didn’t. I came here daily and read a ton when I’d normally drink.

Then I got to writing out a list of the consequences of my drinking and the benefits of staying sober, the things I really wanted from life.

That helped tremendously to change the way I thought of alcohol when it did pop to mind.

Now I’m in a program of recovery. Today I have no desire to drink and all the desire, tools and support I can find to get better at getting better, every day.

Also I got an electric tea kettle. It’s pretty boss. :relieved:

5 Likes

i think about drinking often, more so in the first few months of quitting. Thinking about it is not a problem, the problem is opening the bottle and slugging it down.
I think about many things, robbing a bank, bedding so and so, resigning and sitting under a coconut tree. They are generally not wise thoughts.

1 Like

I’m 6 months sobre this week with 10.5 months this last 12.