What does your relapse consist of? I relapsed

Last night I went to see a friend and have dinner. We had chef salad and with that I had 4 gin and cranberries. Which isnt a lot for me sadly. Since I’ve started this journey I’ve slipped one night and had 2 beers and another night and had a bloody mary. Then there was last night. The first time I was 12 days in this time 3.
Ediit: even with other things I’ve had to face in my life I didn’t always conquer it the first second or even third round. I kept trying. I am very new to this,any advice is helpful. I’m assuming we are here not only to celebrate success but to share our failures so that we can own them,learn and share helpful advice and do better

5 Likes

Hi.
You say you slipped. Others would say you haven’t stopped drinking yet.
Some would say a relapse is one drink, others that it’s a period of drinking after a period of sobriety.
Have you read anything on here about what you need to do?
Have you looked at any programs that can help you?
I’m sorry, but I don’t know what you are prepared to do, hence the questions.

8 Likes

Thanks for response and support

1 Like

That’s what we are here for.
Keep coming back. A favourite saying of mine is it works if you work it.

Hi Angie, it seems you are at the very start of your journey, which good on you to have started! What you need now is information on what to be prepared for, how things might feel/change, listening to others, sharing your own story to find similarities, the support you say you are looking for. This can happen here but also in live meetings. You also need to learn to really look at yourself and start an ongoing inquiry into you own reasons, motives, emotions, thoughts behind the drinking. This is not going to happen over night and neither could it, but just make a start to reflect and try and perceive how you feel around the drinking, what goes along with it inside you. This is for when you’re staying sober.