What to do to avoid smoking?

Hi everyone!

I’ve quit alcohol over a year ago and going strong with that with little to no issues at this point, but tackling my vicious smoking habit proves to be more cumbersome than anticipated. I’ve been smoking for 15 years, of which about half are actual full pack years.

Alcohol was way less ingrained into my system; going cold turkey sucked, but it worked because I’ve reached a point where I just knew it had to stop.

I know I want to stop smoking and I’ve gone from a full pack down to actual full day periods without smoking. Actually 3 without any, yet I still let one of those cravings take over today - twice.

My girlfriend is absolutely rooting for me, I just don’t want to get weak again and have thoughts like how I could smoke without repercussions the few times we don’t see each other. Yes, I’m quitting for me and that’s the main reason I’m doing it, but nevertheless, I just… really enjoy smoking and I’m worried how failing to quit could be worse than just smoking in a reduced fashion (hating the part that comes up with justifications like these).

So, my questions are fairly simple: what do you guys do to avoid giving in to cravings? Is “filling the void” the right approach for you as in replacing it with something meaningful 1:1 or did you make other observations about yourselves?

Thanks in advance for your replies and have some hugs of mine!

5 Likes