20 days and nothing improved

Im new to the app. I’m 30 and the last 20 days is seriously the only time I’ve been sober since I was 13. I stopped for health reasons, I don’t wanna die. I was a half gallon of Jim and a case a bud a day guy. I had the usual, shaking, fever, puking up motor oil like substances and full body pain in general. The cravings are what’s getting me. I’ve found alcohol around the house and have to immediately pour it out or I know I’ll drink it. I’m hitting a wall where it feels like my brain is starting to “sober up” for the first time and I don’t really know who I am, I’m bored, I have zero interest in anything, starting to feel like sober people are the crazy ones. I even have trouble driving sober as I’ve never done it. it’s just so hard to explain in words. Like what am I supposed to do with my time? Who am I? What do I like to do? When will the cravings decrease? When will I see a positive thing come from this torture? I don’t have answers. I started a successful business while drinking non stop and in the last 20 days I’m learning that I don’t even know how to do my own job that I created for myself. One day at a time is more than just a saying to me now as it’s how I’m having to live my life right now. My wife says she’s so proud of me but I’ve never felt like more of a let down in my whole life. Going through this is infuriating and I hope it’s okay that I say that here. Venting would help if I could find the words. Just wondering if there’s anyone here that’s felt like I do?

24 Likes

Try going for a walk?

2 Likes

I went thru the exact same questions with all this “free time”. You learn how to live again. Be patient with yourself.

10 Likes

I’m trying to. Drinking has got me quite overweight and also damaged my heart so I can’t do it like I used to but trying to increase my steps everyday while trying to enjoy it at the same time.

4 Likes