Afraid to start

Hi Everyone

I am afraid to quit

I am 39, male and i am gonna start by saying that i have been smoking for like 10 years already every day, I have taken little brakes, but I have been wanting to quit because I have noticed my health declining, my back hurts, it keeps me in a depression loop, I dont go out, I dont go to the gym, I dont do other thing but smoke and do some studying. I really want to stop smoking but I know it is gonna be really hard, mostly at nights, I am afraid I am not gonna be able to sleep, I know my mood will be shitty. I am about to be a dad to a boy and I want to be healthy to give him the best life as long as I am here in this world. And honestly i have tried to quit before with no success, i am in therapy and everything but i havent had success. I feel like it is controlling me, I am afraid for my lungs, my memory and my mental health.

This is hard! :melting_face::expressionless:

Summary

This text will be hidden

11 Likes

Do you want to be remembered for who you are capable of being as a person or do you want to be defined by your use of marijuana? Think about it on that level…

5 Likes

Welcome to TS! Sounds like ur ready to make some changes! Thats a great first step! I had fear initally over quitting my DOC also. Like urself i used for a very long time. It became very imbedded in my way of life. But drugs literally served no purpose for me. It created alot of pain and hurt and destruction instead (sounds like ur DOC is causing this for u too). Any thoughts that drugs actually did something for me, was a lie that my addictive mind told me. Stick around and really take the suggestions that are mentioned on here. Everyone here has been crucial for my recovery and has helped me get to where i am today.

5 Likes

Welcome!

That resonates. I will have 5 years sober on the 23rd…and I still remember the fear i had of quitting. A lot of people felt that way…