Antidepressents

Has anyone tried antidepressents? My doctor gave me Mirtrazapine to help even me out.,I havent taken it. My husband doeant want me to,and I,am worries aboit being hooked on something. The medicine is supposed to make you sleepy.

I started taking Prozac 5 years ago after a lifetime of high level anxiety and low levely depression. They were a wonder drug for me and helped so much that they basically changed my life.

This is fairly rare and lots of people have lots of issues with psychiatric drugs but I can only share my own experience of them. As far as being hooked goes - i dont know much about tetracylic antidepressants like the one you mentioned but Prozac is an SSRI so not narcotic.

This means it doesnt give the user a high or anything like that so it is, as far as i know, not possible to get hooked on. In the same way heart medicine is not possible to get hooked on.

Important note: I am not a medical professional so take what I say with a boulder of salt.

I think this a deeply personal question. Are you otherwise also getting support to sort through what’s dragging you down? A therapist, support group, recovery program for the substance related questions? It’s a question I wouldn’t face alone.

Ultimately it’s really between you, the doctor and whatever you believe in. Honesty is the most important thing there, I think. Speaking openly with the doctor about usage and how you feel. Using only as prescribed. Preferably touching base regularly with a trusted friend who can relate and knows your struggle.

1 Like