Any academics or students on here?

Currently at day 6 of being sober. Currently sitting in the garden for the first time in a long time with a bottle of water instead of a glass of wine and feeling pretty good actually.

Sitting with my laptop working on my Masters dissertation. Anyone else on here a university student? Undergrad? Postgrad? PhD? Interested to see if I have any fellow postgraduate students on here and what you study :purple_heart:

17 Likes

I did a BA degree in Sociology and got a 2:1

Also got a Level 5 management diploma which is equivalent to a degree

I got accepted to do a Masters but went into work in the end so cancelled my place

4 Likes

That’s awesome! What are your degrees in if you don’t mind me asking? I’m curious😊

1 Like

I did an undergrad in psychology and gender studies double concentration, then a master of public administration. Did some lecturing work while doing my masters, I really enjoy teaching! Wrote a curriculum and taught/trained peers to provide support in a therapeutic setting to people with serious mental illness and substance use disorder - loved that, too, but I was in complete denial of my problem with alcohol and ended up feeling like a hypocrite/imposter the entire time. Burnt out as a result.

Been considering getting additional education around coaching/mentoring, or something that I have passion for to lead to a new career now that I’m recovering/sober.

@Ofmiceandroach what are your areas of focus?

11 Likes

That’s great! I love psychology, studied it for 4 years when I was at school and still continue to read about it for fun! I’ve got an undergrad degree in Criminology and I’m currently writing my thesis for my postgrad degree, which is Criminology and Criminal Psychology.

My thesis is on the analysis of female stalking victims and their experiences, with a focus on how the criminal justice system here in the UK deals with stalking victims and what improvements can be made to the system.

9 Likes