Any musicians here? Does playing music aid your recovery?

I play guitar, fiddle, mandolin, and some banjo and i have found that when i play music it clears my mind and gives me peace like very few things.

Anyone else here have similar experiences?

If so, what do you play?

9 Likes

Not a musician.
But music is a powerful healing tool.
All music.
:pray:t2::heart:

2 Likes

For me it’s singing!! Always has been, but now I can actually sing (and sound decent), but more importantly, it brings me happiness and peace again.

2 Likes

Music has and will always be my one true love, it has given me the world I have found myself through it many times. I have been a drummer, vocalist and keyboardist.

I totally use it to heal myself and I absorb certain emotions into songs it’s just how I deal with life

4 Likes

I play guitar, drums some keys but by heart is in the bass. Yes it has really helped me.

8 Likes

Guitarist here. Music is my therapy and my guitar is my therapist. I don’t write lyrics but my emotions come out when I write. Good to see you and all the other musicians here!!! :sunglasses::metal:t2:

5 Likes

It is awesome to see and meet other musicians on the forum.

4 Likes

That is awesome!

1 Like

I bet your snare has a nice ring to it, what size is the head?

Tama Warlord snare it’s made of bubinga, been my sound for about 12 years

5 Likes

My Roland Fantom, this is what I use to record everything, someday I’ll invest in a PC with an analog synth and setup modulators/sequencers but this for now is how I write and find passion.

3 Likes

I bet man just looking at the rim it looks fun to put some weight into hitting it, it looks like it sounded deep. I always wanted a piccolo snare on the side for the exact opposite effect never got one

Cool looking set!

2 Likes

I have a second snare that I have tuned a lot higher for the effect I was talking about, but I also usually play it turned off to give that more Danny Carey feel to its sound

2 Likes