Any other LGBTQ here?

Well if you didn’t know, I’m a gay woman. I am gender nonconforming (meaning my presentation is more male…male clothes, short hair, etc even though I do identify as a woman) and I typically am very uncomfortable in a lot of spaces. Every time I tried to go to AA, the crowd was not what I am used to, and so I spent the whole time feeling self-conscious (I’ve had a lot of negative experiences with people making comments, etc). These past couple of relapses have told me that I cannot do it on my own, but I was wary of going back to AA. That is until I found a network of LGBTQ centered AA meetings. I haven’t been to one yet, I’m going to my first one tonight! I will comment back with updates on how it was, but I figured I’d throw it out there in case there was anyone else here who needed that resource. The LGBTQ community is wrought with people with drinking issues so I was excited to see these groups.

The website that you can search to see if there is one nearby is www.gayandsober.org. Hope this helps someone else as well!

32 Likes

@kpear826. Strange. I have found that the AA meetings I attend to be very welcoming and accepting to all kinds of people including LGBTQ. Just like everyone else - people wanting to get sober. In my Denver AA Meeting book, I have noticed AA meetings for the LGBTQ community. Stay sober.

4 Likes

It’s probably less about the people being welcoming, as I also have found them to be so, and more about my mental hang ups that keep me from being comfortable therefore I become distracted and anxious when I should be listening and learning if that makes sense. I was just suggesting an alternative for people who may feel like I do.

3 Likes

I’m not LGBTQ - total cis white female here - but I am very curious to hear how your meeting goes tonight. Please update us.

4 Likes

You go girl, I am straight and didn’t like AA meetings… Lol hope you find the perfect fit…

2 Likes