Back again, gotta be done

Bit embarrassed to post this on here… tried stopping alcohol a couple of years ago and did ok with it (couple of bumps but nothing too major), then I fell off good and proper for over a year. It started small and seemed under control but over time it’s crept back up again, I’m not putting my family through that and my daughter is old enough now to notice things. Pretty much putting this on here to commit it to myself that I’m doing this. Thanks for reading, here we go again…

54 Likes

Well it’s good your back here in a supportive place, you can do this.
You have all our support keep checking in and keep positive :slightly_smiling_face:

4 Likes

Don’t be embarrassed, we are all here for the same reason. Welcome back. I am a newbie and have definitely been guilty of thinking I could control it.

6 Likes

Hey man, I am kind of in the same situation. I had a massive seizure about 4 years ago. The docs basically told me that my heavy drinking was a big factor. And I completely stopped!
As with you, it started off with just a few beers with friends. Then it turned into beers and shots at the social club. Then evolved into stopping at the liquor store to bring some booze home.
I have been hitting the bottle pretty hard lately. Mostly because the stress of my business struggling (mostly because of material and shipping costs) , and just not knowing what the future holds.
My kids are grown and have their own children. I want to be around to watch them grow up! And they have made their opinions known. So has my wife. They want me around for years to come. I wish you the best of luck. We just need to keep grinding!!!

21 Likes

Thanks everyone, welcoming supportive community as always :heart:

4 Likes

What you going to do different this time mate?

Loads of suggestions on here of recovery programs. Why don’t you use this as your accountability thread?

4 Likes

Hey “not Bob” (as I remember you). Welcome back.

YOU CAN DO THIS!

3 Likes