Creativity/Artist Block & Sobriety

I’m like 11 or 12 days sober now. I paint murals and portraits and I’ve noticed I relied on booze a lot for creativity and ‘painting fuel’ even though I’m creative without it. But I haven’t felt like painting since I’ve stopped drinking

I’m hoping the art block goes away along with the brain fog from drinking. I’m getting used to working my 9-5, staying sober and finding hobbies outside of drinking and going out.

I’m really trying to get into the painting every day after work grind again but it almost feels like my body is getting used to all the newness of not being drunk 24/7 and I don’t feel like painting ever even though I love it!

Does anyone have any experience with sobriety and artist block and how to get over it?

5 Likes

Yes! I am an artist at heart, I’m always creating something. Not visual arts mind you, but same deal here. I felt the same as you after getting sober.

And this is exactly what was happening. Your body takes time getting used to the new normal, and everything is a little out of whack for a while. Your brain especially needs time, and it can take months to get up to 100%. Creative expression is also low priority in the brain, because survival as well as meeting social and emotional needs tends to need addressing before we can be at our best creatively. So a big part of this is patience.

We also tend to have great expectations getting sober. It’s in many cases justified because sober we indeed become capable of much more than before. But sometimes what we expect just comes slowly or delayed, and that can be frustrating. Right there is where it starts for me — if I’m frustrated, I throw myself ever harder at my art with even worse results, and start a spiral. It’s enough to make me feel like I can never create anything worthwhile again. But when I take a break, voluntary or forced, and come back to it without pressure, the creativity starts to flow again.