Day 2 AF. Want to make it past 6 months this time

So this isn’t my first time quitting drinking. It is my first time that I am also seeking help for my mental health issues as well. Last time I quit drinking for 6 months and I kept waiting to feel better, but rarely did. The deep depression was still there. The anxiety. The inability to connect with friends and family below just the surface. This time I am reaching out for support. To be a part of communities with people who have/are going through the same thing as me. I have some amazing people who support me, but I cannot talk to them when I am low because they just won’t understand. Made the mistake of going of my ssri’s. Want to make an appointment with my doctor but I have missed my last 5 appointments with him due to sleeping it off or just being too hungover to drive. Contemplating trying these AA zoom calls.

9 Likes

Yes to all of what you are planning, and welcome to TS. Please see that doctor. Community is so important. TS is huge, and I also participate in online sobriety zoom meetings. We are rooting for you!

3 Likes

Day 3 for me and I also want to make it past 6 months this time! I abstained for 6 months a few years ago. We can do it again!

4 Likes

We are on the same day :slightly_smiling_face: we can definitely do it we just have to remember to get the support we need and stay focused :heart:

3 Likes

We literally are the exact same on everything you just said. I quit wanting to feel better then my depression and bipolar disorder come whispering in my ear “what the reason for getting sober you gonna still be a mess.” My family definitely doesn’t understand. And I have a friend or two that try…I am also thinking about attending the zoom meetings but I am terrified. But all in all I am in day four and it has been worth it, so I am glad your here and if I can lend a hear and relate don’t feel shy to reach out.

3 Likes