Disconnected 🔌

Just want to vent I guess.
This morning I made an appointment with a walking coach. Not to get myself walking, but to get myself talking and hoping to find solutions.
I feel stuck.
I feel disconnected
I feel unsecure
Irritated
And do not know anymore what to do.
I’m to harsh for myself and to others and last but not least I’m a perfectionist and a bit of an controlfreak.
I know I drank that all away to not feel it. But when my recovery is 10 years old with ups and downs I think I’m stuck.
I can not feel and when I do I cannot give it words. Sometimes I just want to scream ore destroy something. And sometimes I just crave that drink (but I won’t).
When my kids are at home (they are grown ups) I feel left out in their coversations with eachother so I keep quiet.
I feel empty and alone, but I’m an expert in hiding that.
So today I made an appointment and told my husband, kids and boss about it.
It’s ok to be not ok!

But I hope I can help myself to feel better :heavy_heart_exclamation:
Time to learn how to like myself.

43 Likes

Sounds to me you could benefit from contact with a therapist you have a good ‘click’ with. Or is that what you are doing and I misunderstand? You deserve to be happy C. Just like us all. Big hugs. :people_hugging: :heart: :people_hugging:

9 Likes

I’m sorry you’re having a hard time and feel alone; I hate feeling isolated amongst everyone, and can definitely understand the frustration that comes from perfectionist tendencies.

Sometimes it is helpful to have an outside perspective on where you might be able to adjust course. I had a therapist work with me on identifying something that I will not do - and then see what happens. There was mental discomfort…and then it was OK; I don’t know what path you’ve been on (aside from it being an awesome 10 year one!!) - but I can imagine that you’ve been working to heal relationships, to hopefully include with yourself?

4 Likes