Finally accepting that I have a problem

I’m Holly. I have a wonderful loving husband and a 21 year old daughter in college. I am a medical professional. I binge drink. 1 or 2 25% of the time and 12 to 15 the other 75%. I have used alcohol since late teens to cope with social anxiety. Life of the party sometimes and nightmare others. I have also suffered from depression my whole life. For the last few years, I’ve been drinking alone more to get out of my head. I will turn 50 in July. I can count on my hands how many times I have socialized without alcohol. I can go weeks without drinking so I have always struggled with the idea of being an alcoholic. What I know for sure is that alcohol makes my depression far worse. I want to stop and I want to learn how to live happily without alcohol.

11 Likes

Relate completely. Anxiety is the worst but I found when I tried sobriety the first time and made it 16 months it literally went away. I just get bored very easily. This time around I’m filling my calender with activities even if its just reading or exercise. Anything to fill blank space. Best of luck Holly.

3 Likes

Thanks! Just signed up for college full-time. I’ve been unhappy in my career for a very long time. This should keep me very busy. Hopefully my brain still works LOL

4 Likes

Hi Holly, I can totally relate to your story anxiety is a big hurdle for me too. Life is tough, but I’ve come to realise drink only makes anxiety and depression a million times worse. I’m only on day 4 sober and very new here, so no wondrous words of wisdom, but know I hear you and your struggles and you are not alone. Hope this forum helps you out in finding a different path to happiness hun :heart::crossed_fingers::kissing_heart:

Hey Holly! Welcome to the forum. I just turned 50 in February.