Hello eceryone

Hello guys, first time poster here.

I’ve been dabbling with the app and reading posts every so often and today I decided I needed to finally build the nerve to post.

A little about myself is I’m a young cook (27) i live in NYC with my girlfriend and I have had a pretty bad drinking problem for the past 5-6 years. It’s been rocky as I’ve basically caused a lot of problems and ran away from them to Florida to just keep going and came back to New York last year to try and resolve them. It didnt really turn out that way as I’ve just been getting worse and I haven’t been taking responsibility.

Fast forward to now and I’ve basically had one of those bad drunken nights this past Sunday that made my relationship with my girlfriend on the rocks and I’m kind of scared on how things are going. I feel like she resents me and I hate myself for it. I realized my mistakes and decided to attend an A.A meeting tomorrow night after my shift to try and fix myself. I’m basically in a rut and my emotions have been all over the place and I’ve just been trying to compose myself. Besides A.A I’m also going to go back to my therapist and just get my mental health back to normal while I fix the mess I made.

I was wondering what were everyone’s first A.A meeting experiences like? I’m really nervous and I’m sure that’s common but I dont know I guess I needed to write something out before I drove myself crazy you know?

8 Likes

I’d be surprised if you weren’t nervous! Everyone in the rooms will know what it’s like to go to a meeting for the first time.

Some common points that get brought up about meetings:

• You don’t have to talk/share if you don’t want to
  • Introducing yourself as new is a good way to get phone numbers of sober people to talk to
  • As you become more comfortable at meetings, arriving early and leaving late is a good way to get to know people

I like this thread about @aircircle’s first meeting: First AA meeting in one hour

And welcome to the forum!