I find it easier to quit without pressure from others

I am at 18 days sober from alcohol and feel strong and committed.

:heart: “There’s a world of difference between insisting on someone’s doing something and establishing an atmosphere in which that person can grow into wanting to do it.” Mister Rogers :heart:
I am a 52 yo alcoholic(yeah, I don’t like that label much either but it works) and have drank since I was 14 yo. I was a party animal in college. I was a a bar regular in a ski town for a decade after that. I was a drunk during my graduate education. I was a drunk in my medical career. And then the first DWI at 33 yo.

I had to go to IOP for 3 months to retain my medical license, and was then set free. In a few years, I found myself fired from 2 jobs and had to attend two weeks rehab, and join the practitioner monitoring program for 5 years. I was pretty sneaky though(as many of us are I am sure) and found ways to drink even with random urine tests.

I made it 1 year and then DWI #2. (Strange aside–both happened in parking lots, and no crash or injured parties. Weird.) Anyway, off to 3 months rehab in Pennsylvania. That was difficult. If I didn’t “graduate” from that I was off to a year inpatient facility. My anxiety was through the roof those three months. I still couldn’t stay out of trouble though(acting out at talent shows, hitching rides into town, picking up girls who were only in for two week stays), but I made it.

After a year in a sober house I returned to medicine. I bounced around a few different specialties for another 5 years while being monitored and in intensive therapy. I did not drink. I was in AA at least 3 times a week, I carried a remote breathalyzer to blow in 3 times a day, and I tried to be at peace. But it was not for me, I was doing this all for someone else. Deep down hidden in my subconscious, I believed alcohol was still in the cards for me.

Once my monitoring program ended…