I’m new here, hello!

Hello all!
I’m a newbie here, and wanted to introduce myself.
I am a mother of 2 children, my husband works out of town for 3-4 weeks at a time and I work from home.
My alcohol of choice is wine (Pinot Grigio exactly) and I have been known to drink 2-3 bottles per night.
I realize how much $$ I spend every week on it and it makes me sick. I realize how I switch up the store or gas station I buy from and I hate myself.
I realize that there is no way my children don’t know I’m drinking. I can imagine They smell it on me when I put them to bed.
Just writing this makes me tear up.
But, I am GOING to change. I have to change for my family. For myself and for my health.
I am Most concerned about withdrawal. I have been trying to cut back and been successful for the most part. The journaling in this app is really helpful for me to get my feelings out and remind myself to keep going when that nausea hits.
Anyway, I have read so many other folks posts and the support is amazing. I am so glad to be a part of this community!
Thank you!!

29 Likes

Welcome, and good for you for wanting to address it. It takes a lot of courage to quit drinking, and that starts with being honest with yourself about your problem.

I was a heavy drinker. I didnt really experience any withdrawals, but cravings and grumpiness! LoL find some good hobbies or habits and stick to them. It helped me immensely. Good luck!

4 Likes

Hi and welcome aboard.
Good on you for accepting you have a problem and having the desire and strength to want to change things, that’s one of the hardest hurdles to overcome in the beginning.