I wish someone told me you can get severely addicted to weed as much as any other drug

Today is my first day sober, I’ve been addicted to weed for a little over 3 years now and I’m only 19. I started smoking when I was in high school and It wasn’t until I graduated high school, and my mom was okay with me smoking weed. I got a bong and a pen and started smoking all day, everyday. I would wake up and first thing before class get high, before any meal I had to get high, and when my high wore off I would get high again. I’m usually passed out by 8pm bc I’m exhausted from being high all day. It’s now gotten to the point where my addiction has a hold of every aspect of my life. My relationships, my job, myself, my body, and my relationship with God. My mom divorced my step dad this year and my brothers won’t speak to me. I’m afraid everyday that I could go mental if I continue down this path any further. Im ready to start working through the traumas of life instead of pushing everything down with a bong rip. I’ve pushed myself so far from God, and I feel so lost. I crave that sober feeling of enjoying life on natural serotonin highs. That’s what I crave now more than weed. When I go into my 20’s I don’t want to still be struggling with my addiction. I’m scared to go over the wall of sobriety but I’m feeling really trapped in a deep hole and I can’t go like this one more day. I’m sorry this was a very long post. Let me know if anyone relates could use a friend <3

14 Likes

Welcome - this isn’t unusual at all and you are not alone.

Personally weed has been hardest to quit for me out of my 3 vices.
Alcohol was my main thing and I’ve been off that over 6 years.
Prescription amphetamine (adderall) - off that since mid-February.
Weed is a week-to-week thing.

Thankfully it is the least damaging of my addictions, but it is damaging nonetheless. Sounds like it is for you too.