Ive been at aa for over 6 months my life is a mess i need to stop, help

Ive been drinking every day for around 6 years but every time i attempt to stop it just gets so much worse ,aa didn’t work my family hating what im doing hasn’t stopped me ,im at rock bottom i need to stop before i kill myself or end up in the nut house, my anxiety is off the scale, any words off wisdom ,ive managed 21 days so far then that wee devil creeps in

21 Likes

One day at a time , and don’t pick up no matter what is how I can stop drinking, , I’m sure they’ll be lots of advice that will pop up here for you. Personally I couldn’t stop without going to meetings . Good luck on your journey :two_hearts:

5 Likes

Hi Maggie, I’m so sorry to hear you’re having such trouble. Alcohol is a demon and it can take a battle to get that demon the hell away from you.

It is possible if you keep an open mind and if you ask for help.

I would suggest calling someone at an alcohol service in your area and see if you can get inpatient treatment - click on “find a service in your local area” to see a map and contact info:

There are also links to Alcoholics Anonymous and other sobriety groups there - those can help.

Call for help, ask for help, reach out, and don’t give up - you deserve to live free, and if you ask for help and put in the work, you will be free.

Keep checking in here Maggie. You’re a good person and you deserve a safe life where you can be your full self.

3 Likes

Thanks matt for replying, i feel like a complete failure, my life is a mess my son hes 19 hates me ,full of broken promises, i hate me ,im barely able to keep hold of my job ,i cant go on like this ive not ate in days my anxiety is off the scale, i cant sit still i feel like im going to have a mental breakdown, i went to aa but was still drinking inbetween i couldn’t stop ,i dont know why i cant its crazy just stop for gods sake

7 Likes