New here, with a new clean date

I’m new to the forum, hi everyone. I’ve been battling this for a couple of years now. I never thought of myself as an addict for a long time, but I know I am. I have four days clean now, and I want to get back to where I was. I made it to almost 11 months the first time I really stopped. I’ve had a few lapses that only lasted days rather than weeks or months long benders. I am realizing more and more I need additional support, like chat rooms, forums, NA meetings if I really want to stay clean. I just don’t use these resources like I should. It doesn’t help I’m physically disabled, but it contributes to not feeling up to going to an in person meeting all the time. It sucks having multiple disabilities, some excruciatingly painful, and no real way to treat the pain. I’m just rambling. But hi. I want recovery more than anything, I just give in sometimes and it’s frustrating. I just need the motivation even when I’m at a level 8-10/10 pain wise.

15 Likes

I’m new here too, I’ve done lots of day ones followed by lots of quit lit and sober podcasts, if I have learnt one thing from that part of my journey it is that community keeps coming up time and again so here I am. I am hoping that this will help me to succeed!

I’m nervous, I haven’t set my date yet but I’m seeking out any advice to help me prepare for what I wish to be my final ever day one :pray:

9 Likes

Welcome! It’s great to have you here. Battling addiction can be incredibly tough, but you’ve already shown strength by being four days clean. Acknowledging that you need additional support is a big step towards recovery. It’s okay if you haven’t utilized resources like chat rooms or NA meetings as much as you’d like—it’s never too late to start.