Opiod and Fentanyl Overdose

“If you spend time with someone who uses drugs or are a drug user, the County strongly encourages you to carry naloxone with you."

I just wanted to share this article with you guys… my friend recently died from fentanyl overdose but she could have been saved if she had naloxone.

You can get it in in some states without a prescription. I encourage all opiod drug users to carry this, it could save you or someone elses life. I just wanted to make sure everyone was aware. We dont need to lose anymore lives to this disease. Of course abstinence is the best answer.

15 Likes

Totally agree!
The drug rehab I’m under gave me one to carry… I have it inside my coat pocket. So I know I can help in a situation one day!

4 Likes

OMG that’s so sad. :sob:
I had no idea about the naloxone. I dont really even know how it is administered… its good to know it takes more than 1 pack.

3 Likes

I’m a certified NARCAN trainer in the State of New York. I have also reversed two overdoses using NARCAN. If any one has questions regarding NARCAN please let me know.

12 Likes

I’ve also seen IV narcan work on a patient when multiple nasal doses didn’t

2 Likes

Probably not available to the public in many cases. However, there is an IM version that is still used, though being phased out. If you do come across IM (or the nasal injection, which is different from the spray) please let me know as I can explain how to do those as well.

4 Likes

I am actually getting trained to use Naloxone for my place of work in November :slight_smile: We each get our own kit as well. I didn’t realize there were different forms of it. The one in our kit is for the muscle.

2 Likes