Poison dreams starting

Not sure how many on here get them, but they have started for me and thank god they are just dreams. I woke up today and it took a minute for me to realize I wasn’t hungover. It certainly felt real enough. I had to honestly sit there for a quick min and try and remember what I had done the night before. I’m so new to the steps, but isn’t it in there somewhere that in our subconscious minds we will always have thoughts of being alcoholics? Like I said I’m very new to all this and haven’t read all the big book.

6 Likes

Aye mate. Had one the other night. Only my fourth.
So real at the time I was full of shame and guilt. Didn’t know what I was going to say to you lot.
I’m two years sober.
Thought I’d left that sort of thing behind.

3 Likes

I am new to recovery once again but there was a point in my life that I had 3 years clean and sober. The dreams for me felt so real but they did over time decrease in intensity and frequency. I’ve heard that to be true for others as well. Even at the 2 or 3 year mark I would get dreams or thoughts, but like I said, they would rarely happen.

3 Likes

Oh my gosh, I almost posted about this the other day, the same thing! I dreamt that I drank and was hungover in my dream, and I woke up mortified, feeling like it was real for a moment. Man, it felt terrible. I’m still trying to process how I feel about it overall. I searched this forum and found lots of other posts about drinking dreams so I guess it’s something we get to grin and bear. :unamused:

4 Likes

I had dreams about drinking more frequently in the first 6 months of sobriety. I have had one, maybe 2 from then til now. It’s always a relief to wake up sober!

3 Likes

they still happen to me and they really do suck. :sleepy: but it does feel wonderful to realize you aren’t actually hungover!

3 Likes