Polyglots of TS unite!

Inspired by this topic: Talking Language

We have so many people from around the globe here. I’m curious how many languages do you speak? At which level?

I’ll start.

• English (native tongue)
  • German (once at C1 level, but it’s probably regressed to B2 by now)
  • I studied Spanish in high school, but forgot most of it :frowning_face:
6 Likes

What’s C1 and B2 level?

I’m old school, when I was in school we had year 1-3 but that was in upper secondary school.

I speak

Swedish (native)

English (native)

Romani Chib (native, but probably not on native level any more, it’s been years since I used it everyday)

French Beginner level (Studied school years grade 5-9)

Spanish Beginner level (studied upper secondary grade 1-3)

I understand more Spanish than French though.

Currently Trying to learn Esperanto, and have been doing so for about 1,5 years.

But sometimes I doubt that I actually do speak any language fluently because like most cases when you’re bilingual or multilingual you forget words in the language you use at the moment. And just say it in whatever language that gets first to your head.
So it becomes a mix of it all. :smiling_face:

4 Likes

German: I survive.
English: I survive.
French: I survive.
Spanish: basics. Understand some.

11 Likes

English - native
Spanish - I can get by. I used to be close to fluent.

4 Likes

I was raised bilingual English and Spanish. My abilities have ranged over the years in regards to Spanish, I did an intensive program in college that required several courses where only Spanish was spoken and it included some literature classes. I am woefully out of practice speaking it, I will admit. It would come back very easily with a reason to use it. But my understanding of it and various accents and dialects has expanded due to my family participating in sharing Instagram/Tic Tocs with each other!

5 Likes

Dutch - native
English - close to native
German - understand it very well, speak it soso