Quitter's quit being a quitter on quittin' thread

Hi quitters. Im just another quitter. My rock bottom has come after 15 years drinking 5 of which have been heavy… every day.

I have been a functional alco… my drinking timeslot post 6pm then off to work next day. I have been an expert in hiding my degenerative behavior from work mates and most family.

My rock bottom has been both mentally and behavioral. Mentally i realized i cannot even watch news without becoming emotionally disturbed nearly to the point of tears… the news people. Yes. The news.

My head is all over the place due to years of alchohol abuse. I have forgotton what normal is. I feel like an anxious wreck.

Behaviorally… i have drink drove in the past… just last week i got behind the wheel after drinking 10 pints of beer. That is the second time. The first time i blocked it out this time its my rock bottom.

I have a wife and young kids i cannot do this and take these risks any more.

I am 7 days sober today.

Thanks for reading… wish i could say more but it has taken me forever just to type even this in my phone…

Please wish me luck i have had enough.

102 Likes

I do wish you luck. I was in a situation similar to you not that long ago. Been sober since Jan 21. It does get better and you will feel better. Allow yourself to feel good about yourself for every day, every hour that passes and you stay sober.

8 Likes

Welcome @Quitter!!! You’re at the right place here for a lot of support and people who know the feeling!!:four_leaf_clover:
I was a functional alco as well so i know what you mean… i hit my bottom by suddenly acknowledging that my black outs were not acceptable any more… on a monday meeting with the staff that works in my company… ambarrased and ashamed but i needed it to take the decision to finaly be ok with the idea that alco became my enemy and was no longer my "friend":pray:
Thanks to this forum and all the lovely people here i’m now at day 67​:rose::pray: