Regret in sobriety

Hi does anyone else get regret at stopping drinking. Like you wish you hadnt stopped ? Im fairly new in my sobriety and im constantly thinking my life is going to be miserable and boring without alcohol in my life. I hate the thought of ruining my life but i also think whats the point in a life where nothings enjoyable…

4 Likes

Oh friend, that’s only demons whispering at you. There is so much more enjoyable on the sober side, but you’ll only see that once you’ve committed to being here for a while.

What’s the downside of giving sobriety a flees shot?

11 Likes

Yeah i was thinking thats all it is. Its just that niggling feeling like holidays parties etc wont be fun without alcohol ? Im definately wanting to stop drinking i just wonder you know ?!? Thanks for your reply

1 Like

The only thing I regret is that it took so long for me to learn how live and enjoy life without the drink.

19 Likes

Take some time and think about what you are REALLY missing out on. You can still do all the same fun things but you won’t be doing anything stupid or dangerous because of intoxication. And you’ll actually remember the fun the next day.

I know what it’s like to have those voices in your head but I promote you that there is NOTHING about drinking that can’t be better with sobriety.

6 Likes

Thats the addiction talking. Drugs like alcohol rewire many reward circuits so nothing seems enjoyable without it, or something like parties. Its like theres a gap now somethings missing. But what life is that where I can only enjoy a party drunk or on something? What life is that where I need substances to have fun?

3 Likes

Nope. I regret many things that I did while drinking but never regretted drinking. Would it be great if I didnt have this disease and could drink like a "normal " person? Probably. However that isnt the case and I have accepted that.