Sobriety - From The Beginning: Journal Entries, Aides, Practices and Pitfalls

Okay… so I’ve been on here for a short time and I’m really enjoying the comradery I see here. At the time of this post, I’m 19 days sober, so still very new and this is my first attempt, so no resets thus far.

From the day I decided to stop drinking, I had the clarity to start journaling right away so I could refer back to my thoughts, feelings, and struggles along with the victories. I’ve decided to share some of these thoughts on here with the hope that through this clusterf*&ck rollercoaster ride we are journeying through just one person may find hope, strength, and vision that it is indeed possible through my story.

Journal Day 1 -
$0 Saved so far
7/25/17

Woke up still hazy from last night - I don’t remember going to bed. I know this has to stop. I’m disappointing my partner and myself regularly.

Swallowing my pride and gonna go to a meeting tonight. NOt sure what to expect or how to proceed. I just know I can’t keep on this course and I can’t end up like my mom did. Here goes nothing - Wishing myself luck!
#MeAgainstTheWorld

13 Likes

I love you for this, 19 days is longer than I’ve made it recently.
15 at the most.
If you want to talk I’m here.

2 Likes

Thank you! I’ll be trying to post every day, staying about 3 weeks ahead of my journal. It was really cool just reflecting back on day 1 seeing how I felt compared to how I feel today! I’m also here and love to chat about anything and everything. This forum and the meetings I go to ARE my support system!

5 Likes

This is so awesome. I may even join in. We’ll c lol

1 Like

I really think that’s a good idea, I have daylio journal but a sober vs struggling journal would be good to.

I’m 13 days off opiates. The thing I keep flipping back to on day one in my journal is “Be the hero of your own story.” When we read a good story we always relate to the knight battling the dragon right? Well here’s our dragon. Time to battle.