Struggling staying sober i keep relapsing

Just really cant believe im in this position and become a drinker i have a panic and anxiety and flash backs memories and then i just go straight for a drink i done so well for 3 days then today ive relapsed

4 Likes

Welcome S.
I’m glad you found us.
There’s a fountain of support and knowledge here to help us stay sober. Have a good read around. Join in when you’re comfortable.

Being active on here has kept me sober.

:pray:t2::heart:

1 Like

Thankyou
Yeah this seems amazing im pretty glad ive found it but yeah feeling down that i gave in
i was sober in December for a week but mental health just creeps up and takes over so instead of the irrational thoughts which leads to me drinking it kind off keeps me safe in a wierd way

2 Likes

This may sound super dumb. If you think it is I won’t be offended. Buy a banjo. I’ve been a professional musician for 25 years and I’ve worked with a lot of people in recovery who gravitate towards the guitar. I play the guitar, I love my guitars. I’m a cellist by trade. But I digress. The guitar world can sometimes draw you into crowds you are trying to stay away from. The banjo on the other hand is tuned to Open G which means it’s a great first instrument and have you ever heard of a bluegrass band getting ripped up and destroying a Hilton Presidential Suite? Amazon has a Gold Tone AC-1 for short short money. The time you spend learning the banjo is time you’re not abusing. No matter what you choose we’re all here to support you on your journey. Stay strong!

3 Likes