Truth and Accountability

I have been lying to myself and those around me. Beginning today I will actually TRY to get sober. A month after I drove home drunk and was so hungover that I couldn’t play with my children, my husband told me I needed to get sober. Of course in my post binge guilt, I completely agreed. Then, like addicts are prone to do, I talked my self out of it and begun sneaking the occasional drink. Two weeks ago, I had too many and again got the talk from the hubs. Since then I have not really been trying. Been hiding it, arguing with myself, and living in a cycle of guilt and doubt and drink. I want to put more effort in. I want to actually TRY. But it’s got to be for me. This is going to be my documentation of my real journey, my accountability log, and my inspiration.

16 Likes

Welcome @Sprite. You are right, you need to do it for you. You are so worth a sober life!

3 Likes

Hi, I’m new to this app. I read your post and I can completely relate to what you are going through. I have a child and at the worst point I collected her from school drunk iam so disgusted in myself for putting my child and partner through this. I stopped for a while due to the “wake up call” but of course started to talk myself round to having another drink fooling myself into believing it was fine, its just 1 drink- who am I kidding, it’s never just 1 drink. I hide my drink around the house and then forget where I put it only for my partner to come across it. Everyone tells me I’m such a lovely person but when I drink I’m like a demon, the complete opposite of who I really am. I’m desperate to stop drinking I want a life of happiness and inner peace. I hope you get through this and manage to stop drinking xx

5 Likes

@Nicola, my heart breaks for you. Maybe we can do this together. I am disgusted when I think about some of the things I’ve done and the danger I’ve exposed by kids to. They deserve better. So do you and so do I. Stay in touch and keep trying.

3 Likes