Unexpected relapse

I’m new to this app and just gonna throw my experience out there…

I stopped drinking last November and totally embraced all the right things for recovery - Lifering meetings. therapy, new hobbies and lifestyle choices, etc. I felt totally solid with sobriety and admittedly got a bit lazy about doing meetings. I was 8 months uninterrupted sober and stupidly convinced myself I had “beat this thing.” When work travel brought social events I made the mistake of trying to have “just one drink.”

Down the rabbit hole I went and, after struggling to taper back off, wound up back where I was last year. Detoxed again and am 28 days sober again. I feel great again but find it very scary that I made that mistake and didn’t call anyone. I guess I didn’t know anyone in recovery I knew well enough to reach out to.

Anyone else have this experience that has any any suggestions?

Steve

15 Likes

It’s hard to accept that you ha e to remind yourself no matter what your a recovering addict…
Dailiy I have to say it to myself for that accountability so I don’t let Gremlin slip by and remind of something I’m meant to miss…

Because I really don’t miss the stress it caused it my life… I don’t miss the lack of tolerance I had and I don’t miss the person I became…

Oh try and be kind to yourself… Sometimes we beat ourselves down instead of giving ourselves the Kudos it takes to just not pick up… Its not as simple when for years it has been your best friend… Your source of relief and you comforting friend.

3 Likes

Thanks for the kind words Danni. I’m trying to be kind to myself but being a stubborn dumb dumb that is always insisting on succeeding at everything I tackle, I was fooling myself. Succeeding at making the problem go away wasn’t realistic. Success is coming to grips with fact it’s going to be a lifelong struggle. Bummer, dude!

Have you had anything similar happen to you?

1 Like