Using dxm/ cold medicine. NOT ME! JUST HAVE QUESTIONS

A friend of mine had started using dxm, what is it? I’m a recovering alcoholic as is she but she’s using this stuff in place of alcohol and I have no idea what it is. I googled it and all I find is cold medicine. WTF? Anyone have experience with this. Should I be concerned?

You’re right. That’s what it is.

If dxm stands for dextromethorphin it is a cough suppressant

I’ve no experience but abuse of this is concerning. It can fuck up your liver pretty good.

1 Like

What @Dejavu said. If you mean the cold medicine, abusing it (not using it as prescribed) is not a great idea as I understand it. Particularly long term.

Abusing cold medicine isn’t so uncommon, I say from experience… at my worst I’d down whatever was around to get the job done.

Just like i seen sold in a gas station the other day legal “lean” . People are also mixing it in alcohol as well. Or in the 90’s was a sizzzurp!

I used to do triple C’s and DXM. Looking back it was not a pleasant experience.

I “overdosed” on robotussin once… never again! horrible hallucinations… puking… thought I was gonna die. eff that stuff!

“Either I’m high or I’m nuts , cus if you ain’t tilting this room neither am I”

• eminem

I have been taking two Aleve PMs at night to assist with sleep. Works really well too. I remember trying to take it when I was drinking and it didn’t work or at least I don’t think it worked. I usually just blacked out so it may have I simply dont have any recollection of it working.

also dxm itself has been shown to NOT affect the liver. think before you speak.