What it is about

Hello everyone. My name is Robert. I am new here and still trying to figure this out, so bear with me!
So, i am new to this recovery idea. After i was discharged from the USMC, i turned heavily to opiates to deal with the pain i endured from the years spent in active duty, the shame and guilt i felt from the things i had done. I also used stimulants to try and get the adrenaline i am missing from the action that had kept me going. All in all, this is a struggle, but i am built to endure.
Over the past 9 1/2 yrs. I have destroyed my identity and have done things i would never have done had my situation not occurred. There is a ton of guilt for becoming this way, but i am here now trying to get past all this.
I am glad to be here and look forward to getting to know some positive people. Until then…

14 Likes

Hi robert! Welcome to the forum! Thank u for sharing a bit about urself. I have never been in active duty but i have had a past that i was trying to escape from by using drugs.

We cant change what we have done in the past but we can make our future bright by making better choices today :slight_smile: take it one day at a time. Come on here often, read, and share. This forum has been the biggest help for me in getting clean. Honestly, idk where id be without it. Wishing u all the best!

3 Likes

Welcome to TS. This community has been crucial in my recovery journey, and I hope it’ll be helpful to you as well. There is a lot here to digest, so have a good read around, see what resonates for you. Wish you all the best!

2 Likes

Hi Robert and welcome to TS. You’re in the right place for positive support.

As @Butterflymoonwoman expressed, addiction is a way to escape the feelings of guilt, shame etc, through numbing ourselves. It’s a temporary relief with devastating, lasting consequences.