You restart your clocks if you have a beer?

Just curious…im 662 days… did it without this apo. But my Daughter had an app and I thought it was interesting so I joined this one.
Question is I have maybe a beer On the weekend now and then. Now I used to have six every night. So I have went to 4 beers a month. Instead of 126 plus beers or 2 fifths of jameson a month… I dont count this as relapse or not stopping. Do you all. I been hammered 2 times in 662 days…instead of 3 times a week. Me i just dont see it as starting myclock over…But want to play by theRules!

4 Likes

I’m new to sobriety. But I would say yes alcohol is alcohol and if you had a problem with it in the past then it sounds like a slippery slop to be on.

3 Likes

For me - If I have even half of beer, I reset the clock.
Having one or two beers from time to time is very dangerous, slippery slop.

6 Likes

Sober is sober.
Beer is beer.
You’re lying to yourself here.
:squid:

11 Likes

I mean… for me, the only rules are the ones I give myself. I’m 34 and there’s absolutely nothing stopping me from having a glass (or a bottle or 5) of wine today while leaving the timer running. But if I did that, there’d be no point to the timer, it would just be a number on an app on my phone counting how many days have passed since Jan 14, 2023. My timer represents my commitment to sobriety. So… yeah. If I had a beer, I’d reset it. More likely tho, I’d probably just lie to myself for weeks/months that I can now control it.

13 Likes

If reducing works for you, great. Counting this makes no sense tho. You’d have to say I’ve not had alc on X outta Y days.

No way that’s sobriety tho.

12 Likes

I count that as a relapse. I drank couple of ciders a month ago and I reset my counter. It’s either on or off, there’s no middle way in sobriety. But you can do whatever you want.

6 Likes