1st day sober, scared, worried, and overwhelmed

i recently had 8 months sober, i had a drink on fourth of july to celebrate with my family and ive completely relapsed. I haven’t had a sober day since and dont even know where to begin. I am also a returning college student and have worked very hard to transfer to a prestigious University but my drinking is hurting my grades which will effect my overall all gpa and ruin my chances. I Need help fast.

3 Likes

1st day for me too. I’ve got a gig tomorrow and have no idea how I’m going to get through it.
What are you studying?

3 Likes

You’re here, that’s what matters. You might find this thread helpful:

There’s so much support here. Search, read, reach out when you need to. Welcome :blush:

1 Like

Thank you and good luck on your gig, i am studying sociology

Thank you very much

Maybe you could use your knowledge of sociology to hack your perception of alcohol use.

Great advice, i truly wish it was that easy. Drinking was and sorta is my guilty pleasure that goes against all my better faith, judgment, and knowledge and yet i still do it, but now the issue is its not a pleasure and im simply struggling to stop.

Do you drink socially or alone also?

There’s a book called This Naked Mind which I found really helpful in shifting my perception of alcohol. I’ve also seen Allen Carr’s book, The Easy Way to Control Alcohol, recommended. Worth a try!

2 Likes

Do the opposite that makes you drink! Change your routine completely!!! Keep your brain engaged in in healthy addictions! That’s been my model… if I don’t feel like walking, I walk! You get the point! It develops the discipline you need to take hold of the reins. Some people need a program to stay focused. Do what works for you!

Once you get some sober time under your belt, you’ll see how much better you deal with life, stress and anxiety.

Make it happen! It’s your life!

Thank you, i will look into both