Binge drinking guilt - hey I am a newbie!

Hi everyone,

I may be a little different to some. I don’t actually drink on a daily basis but have a bad binge drinking habit at the weekends which leads me to feel riddled with anxiety and depression on a Sunday until mid week. At 27, I just can’t seem to grasp the whole moderation thing. I have tried soft drink in between alcoholic beverages, sticking to 4 drinks, no spirits etc but nothing works for me and my mum is also an alcoholic so I am worried I am following in her footsteps. I also get crazy drunk in situations when there is just no need for it, like a casual dinner party etc. I think the only option for me at this time is to go completely cold turkey. Has anyone else been in a similar situation and if so, how have you felt since giving it up?

On day one after a heavy weekend and feeling hopeful this will help my mental health and insecurities!

11 Likes

Hello, Nat and welcome to the forum! There is a lot of hope here, and many stories of success in getting and staying sober. If you keep an open mind, you will be sure to find much you can relate to your own circumstances.

I struggled for years because I compared myself to an ideal in my head of a “real” alcoholic. I often came up short of identifying my problem because my frequency of drinking was not so much, or the amount I drank was less, or my losses were not as severe. What I know now is that I was merely justifying my drinking and allowing myself to continue in my addiction.

Sobriety is an individual journey. What I have seen in common across those people who are successful is a fundamental dedication to sobriety, to not drinking no matter what. These people, without exception, have sought help from something larger and stronger than themselves. Some use AA or Smart Recovery, some use therapy, some use medication. Many use physical activity or training. All of them practice sobriety every day.