Career/Jobs

Hey folks. Im feeling down. Im 31…sober for almost a year from cocaine and alcohol. I have never had a “career” just worked odd jobs but nothing that made me happy and fullfilled. Im unemployed. I dont have any references or fancy degrees. I have a community college diploma. Have no clue what path I want to go down for a job/career, I’m lost. Today I was with a friend and he said your way behind the 8-ball getting started in a career and its almost too late. It made me really sad and hopeless. Started crying when I got home. Need some support. Thanks xo

1 Like

Mate, who says you gotta have a career at all. I mean what is a career? You spend most of your life slaving to get qualified to do a job that might not be there for long only to be thrown on the pile when you’re too old!
Is there anything that you have enjoyed doing in your life, that you think you would enjoy doing for a few years?
There is always a way to move forward, I’d say don’t listen to people who say things like that. I didn’t become a builder untill I was late 30’s, before that I worked in factories, before that I trained as a chef.
Just be you.

15 Likes

That’s pretty negative what your friend said it’s never too late to start a career not sure if you need a career in something to be able to work also 31 is not too late to start anything in your life

3 Likes

Also want to say congratulations on your clean time you did an awesome job

3 Likes

My friend has worked for red bull for 12 years. They have great in house advancement and decent pay. No one starts at the peak of their career. Typically you need to take an entry level position and work your way up. Plenty of places don’t require degrees. If you are East coast based you could also try Wegmans. They are great place to work.

3 Likes